Back to top

CMS has created a set of analytical files that contain data from the Medicare Shared Savings Program. There are two separate Research Identifiable Files (RIFs) that the Medicare Shared Savings Program provides:

  • The Shared Savings Program Beneficiary-Level RIF
  • The Shared Savings Program Provider-Level RIF

What does this file include? (variable highlights)

  • ACO ID
  • ACO Name
  • Start Date
  • Tax Identification Number (TIN) of ACO Participant
  • TIN Legal Business Name
  • National Provider Identifier (NPI) for practitioner
  • Name of Provider Associated with the NPI
  • CMS Certification Number (CCN; formerly OSCAR number)
  • CCN Facility Type
  • CCN Facility Type Description
  • Provider Specialty Code
  • ACO Location (county primarily served)
  • Year of ACO Source Record

Special considerations

  • The initial Shared Savings Program-Level RIF is limited to ACO- and TIN-level data; information for individuals (NPIs) and facilities (CCNs) is only available in the final version (see below for additional details on file availability).
  • Shared Savings Program RIFs do not include Pioneer ACO, Next Generation ACO or Comprehensive End Stage Renal Disease Care (CEC) data.
  • All technical questions related to the Shared Savings Program should be directed to the ACO Information Center. Please redirect your question to or by calling 1-888-734-6433 (select option 1); TTY/TDD 888-734-6563.
Privacy Level
Research Identifiable Files